Four leaders, spouses lauded with awards

| April 30, 2010 | 0 Comments

Story and Photo by
Sgt. 1st Class David Wheeler
8th Theater Sustainment Command Public Affairs

FORT SHAFTER — In a cozy conference room filled with senior noncommissioned officers at the Hale Ikena, April 20, the U.S. Army-Hawaii Sergeant Audie Murphy Club recognized four Soldiers and four spouses for their outstanding service to the Army and its community members.

Members of the U.S. Army-Hawaii Sgt. Audie Murphy Club gather with their newest member, Staff Sgt. Tamari Adderton (wearing lei), at the Hale Ikena, Fort Shafter, for a keepsake photo.The ceremony began with the overhead lights turned off, leaving the room illuminated only by a projection screen in a corner. 

As a video explained what it takes to be a leader, Soldiers dressed in past era uniforms emerged from behind the screen to welcome a new generation of leaders.

Maj. Gen. Michael J. Terry, commanding general, 8th Theater Sustainment Command, acknowledged in his opening remarks that a true leader is not dependant on size, gender or race.

“When you think of Audie Murphy, 5-foot-5, 110 pounds —wasn’t accepted by the Marines or paratroopers — and look what he became,” Terry said. “I find it very important that we honor these Soldiers that embody his spirit and leadership.”

The Sgt. Audie Murphy Award went to Staff Sgt. Tamari Adderton, while the Honorary Sgt. Audie Murphy Award went to three Soldiers: Sgt. Maj. Thao Kamakahi-Watson, Command Sgt. Maj. Jeffrey Fairley and Command Sgt. Maj. Robert Williamson.

As the new inductees were introduced and audience members told why the Soldiers deserved the award, common themes began to emerge.

“She is my mentor. She has given me the tools to be a successful Soldier and future leader,”  said Spc. Kendra Bell about Staff Sgt. Tamari Adderton, 45th Sustainment Brigade, 8th TSC. “As a leader, she has demonstrated competence, and she always places my needs above her own.”

For Adderton, being inducted is icing on the cake. The true reward, she explained, is the impact her life has on Soldiers.

“I love knowing that Specialist Bell wants to do better in the military because of the example I am setting.” Adderton said. “That’s what it’s all about.”

Soldiers weren’t the only ones honored for their outstanding contributions. Four spouses received the Dr. Mary E. Walker Award.

The recipients were Iris Lalonde, spouse of Sgt. 1st Class Matthew Lalonde; Mary Redd, spouse of Sgt. 1st Class Lenwood Redd; Celeste Crews, spouse of Maj. John Crews; and Jessica Davis, spouse of Sgt. 1st Class Derek Davis.

The Dr. Mary E. Walker Award recognizes Army spouses who have contributed significantly to the quality of life for Soldiers. Awardees exemplify personal concern for the needs, training, development and welfare of Soldiers, and care for their families, in the same way the award’s namesake did more than 100 years ago. 

From attending countless meetings, doing volunteer work and raising children with her Soldier-husband, Mrs. Redd carries on the legacy of Dr. Walker through her selfless service. 

“I support the family readiness group, Army Community Service, Army Family Team Building, (and) I volunteer for our church,” she said, smiling. “We go to the local homeless shelter, (and) every other Christmas, we go to the shelter to feed the hungry. I am starting ‘Meals on Wheels.’”

Redd explained that she has always prided herself in reaching out to others.

“I was born and raised in Hawaii, and one thing I learned at an early age is how to give aloha,” she said. “If you don’t know how to give aloha, you cannot get aloha. If I can give and have the means to give, I will.”


Sgt. Audie Murphy Award inductee


  • Staff Sgt. Tamari Adderton


Honorary inductees


  • Command Sgt. Maj. Jeffrey Fairley
  • Sgt. Maj. Thao Kamakahi-Watson
  • Command Sgt. Maj. Robert Williamson


Dr. Mary E. Walker Award inductees


  • Celeste Crews
  • Jessica Davis
  • Iris Lalonde
  • Mary Red



Category: News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *