SAMC donates uniforms to future leaders

| September 17, 2010 | 0 Comments

Story and Photo by
Sgt. 1st Class David Wheeler
8th Theater Sustainment Command Public Affairs

President of the USARHA SAMC, Staff Sgt. Richard Yniguez, protocol office, 8th TSC, takes a final count of the Class A uniforms donated to the Hawaii Multiple Schools Unit JROTC program.SCHOFIELD BARRACKS — Recently U.S. Army-Hawaii’s Sergeant Audie Murphy Club, Tripler Army Medical Center’s SAMC and the 25th Infantry Division’s SAMC joined forces to help military leaders of the future.

Working together on a Class A uniform drive, the clubs passed on 96 service green slacks, 69 service green coats, 34 service green skirts, 118 short sleeve shirts, 67 long sleeve shirts and more than 20 miscellaneous items, including low quarter shoes.

Lt. Col. (Ret.) Antoinette Correia, director of Army Instruction, Hawaii Multiple Schools Unit JROTC, explained how the donated uniforms will help the program prepare cadets for the future.

“We can use the donated Class A uniforms for at least the next two years,” Correia said. “This will help our budget by using these instead of buying new uniforms. The money that was going to be used to buy Class A uniforms can now be used to prepare for the changeover to the new, blue dress uniform.”

Staff Sgt. Tamari Lewis, schools noncommissioned officer in charge, 45th Sustainment Brigade, 8th Theater Sust. Command, ensures that this donation is more than just handing over old uniforms.

“It’s an honor to be able to pass on our uniforms to (those who) will eventually be junior enlisted Soldiers, or officers in the Army,” Lewis said. 

This drive is only a small portion of the partnership between JROTC and the USARHAW SAMC.

“We are the official judges for all regulation drill meets (four per year),” said Staff Sgt. Richard Yniguez, president, USARHAW SAMC, from the 8th TSC’s protocol office. “We are the official sponsors of the USARHAW SAMC Outstanding Leadership award, given to the top cadet leaders during drill meets (first, second and third place for each event). We sponsor the trophies for the governor’s review held at the end of the school year on Palm Circle. We also serve at all times as mentors to the young cadets.”

Correia believes that the Soldier-student mentorship is the greatest beneficial factor to this partnership.

“These kids get to see the best of the best (noncommissioned officers) in the Army and they have someone to look up to,” she said. “Even if it’s just (wearing) the uniform at the drill meets, they can see how important it is to really look sharp in the uniform.”

Lewis is proud to be a part of the SAMC and participate in events like this.

“It’s an organization that stands proud and true of what we believe in, which is not just taking care of our Soldiers and each other, but taking care of our community as well,” Lewis said.


USARHAW SAMC is an elite organization of noncommissioned officers comprised of the best Army NCOs who set the standards for leadership and excellence. USARHAW SAMC is a non-profit, private organization that reaches out to the local and military communities.

Along with their numerous outreach projects, every quarter the USARHAW SAMC club inducts new members that embody the spirit of Audie Murphy. They also award the honorary Sergeant Audie Murphy award to military members that personify the spirit of the Audie Murphy Club.

Every quarter USARHAW SAMC also awards the Dr. Mary E. Walker award. The award recognizes Army spouses who have contributed significantly to the qual­ity of life for Soldiers, exemplifying personal concern for the needs, training, development and welfare of Soldiers, and care for their families the same way the award’s namesake did more than 100 years ago. 

Sergeant Audie Murphy Club Inductees

  • Sgt. 1st Class Pamela Whitlock, Class VII noncommissioned officer in charge, 8th Special Troops Battalion, 8th Theater Sustainment Command
  • Staff Sgt. Carl Sachs, platoon sergeant, Company B, 715 Military Intelligence Bn., 500th MI Brigade
  • Sgt. Jermaine Ocean, platoon sergeant, Co. A, 715 MI Bn., 500th MI Bde.
  • Staff Sgt. Bruce Jones Jr., communications NCOIC, Headquarters and Headquarters Co., 205th MI Bn., 500th MI Bde.
  • Staff Sgt. Nathan Ballinger, secretary to the general staff NCOIC, 94th Army Air and Missile Defense Command
  • Staff Sgt. Ciji Evans, secretary to the commanding general, 94th AAMDC
  • Staff Sgt. Justin Thorp, operations sergeant, 94th AAMDC
  • Staff Sgt. Michelle Poe, operations sergeant, Co. B, 715 MI Bn., 500th MI Bde.

Sergeant Audie Murphy Honorary Award

  • 1st Sgt. Curtis Rucker Jr., HHC, 8th STB, 8th TSC

Dr. Mary E. Walker Award Recipient

  • Melanie Jenkins, spouse of 1st Sgt. Martin Jenkins, HHC, 516th Signal Bde., 311th Signal Command


Category: Community Relations, News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *