8th TSC re-enlists Pacific-based sustainers, present retention awards

| November 28, 2014 | 0 Comments
Re-enlisting troops

Maj. Gen. Edward F. Dorman III, commander, 8th TSC, gives the oath of enlistment to three Soldiers re-enlisting, Nov. 20. The Soldiers from left to right are: Sgt. Joshua D. Scruggs, a horizontal engineer with 130th Engineer Brigade, followed by his wife Alexandra; Spc. Aaron J. Jackson, a heavy equipment repair crew maintainer with 130th Eng. Bde., followed by his wife Jasmine; and Spc. Cynthia M. Barnes, a motor transport operator with 8th Special Troops Battalion.

Story and photo by Sgt. Jon Heinrich
8th Theater Sustainment Command Public Affairs


SCHOFIELD BARRACKS — “We’re going to demonstrate that esprit-de-corps that makes people want to be a part of us,” said Maj. Gen. Edward F. Dorman III, commander, 8th Theater Sustainment Command, during a retention awards ceremony, Nov. 20.

“We’re going to demonstrate that honorable service which gives back to the community and to others,” he added.

Dorman re-enlisted three Soldiers and presented retention awards to several of 8th TSC’s subordinate units with Command Sgt. Maj. Charles M. Tobin, senior enlisted adviser, 8th TSC.

“When a Soldier re-enlists, they are volunteering to give back to the Army and local community,” Dorman said. “That’s tremendous. They demonstrate stewardship of this great profession of ours.”

“The strength of our nation is our Army, the strength of our Army is our Soldiers and the strength of our Soldiers is our families,” Dorman said. “That’s what makes us Army Strong.”

The following units were awarded for outstanding performance in achieving 100 percent of their assigned retention objectives:

•8th Special Troops Battalion.

•130th Engineer Brigade.

•45th Sustainment Brigade.

•8th Military Police Brigade. The 8th MPs were also presented the Early Bird Award for being the first brigade in the command to accomplish all retention objectives for fiscal year 2014.


8th TSC Re-Ups & Appreciation

The following personnel were recognized:

•Spc. Cynthia M. Barnes, motor transport operator, 8th STB.

•Spc. Aaron J. Jackson, heavy equipment repair crew maintainer, 130th Eng. Bde.

•Sgt. Joshua D. Scruggs, horizontal engineer, 130th Eng. Bde.

Also present were Scruggs’ wife Alexandra and Jackson’s wife Jasmine, both of whom were presented certificates of appreciation for their support and contributions they have provided during their spouses’ service.


Other awards. Dorman and Tobin also presented awards to three of the senior career counselors for exceptional performance of duty:

•Master Sgt. Jeffrey J. Levesque, 45th Sust. Bde.

•Master Sgt. Sam Shiraishi, 8th MP Bde.

•Master Sgt. Robert P. Waller, 130th Eng. Bde.

“Our Army is full of trusted professionals today and tomorrow, and it can’t be unless our retention program is doing what it needs to do,” Dorman said. “That means that our retention professionals, in conjunction with the leadership, are engaged in the discussion about who the very best is in this great ohana that we have here.”

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *